Community Recognition Awards 2019

The recipients of the 2018 Community Recognition Awards, seen above in a group photo except for Professional of the Year David Thompson, were announced at the Tracy Chamber of Commerce on Dec. 7. The will be feted at the chamber’s Winter Gala on Jan. 25.

The Tracy Chamber of Commerce has announced the recipients of the Community Recognition Awards — including Don Cose and Diane Colacino as the citizens of the year.

The chamber has been recognizing people and business for their contributions to Tracy, which is now called the Community Recognition Awards, for more than 50 years.

The Female Citizen of the Year is Diane Colacino, who has volunteered for the Boys and Girls Clubs of Tracy for 21 years. She has also given her time to Brighter Christmas, the Tracy Police Officer’s Association Crab Feed, the Tracy Fire Department’s Charity Crab Feed, the Senior Thanksgiving Dinner and Case for Kids. In her capacity with the Boys and Girls Clubs, she was honored with the 2016 National Service to Youth Award, 2010 Women and Youth Award, 2008 and 2009 Distinguished Service Awards, and 2007 Volunteer of the Year Award.

Don Cose, the Male Citizen of the Year, is a downtown landowner and contractor who has been actively engaged in the Tracy Rotary Club since 1973. Cose has served as president of the Tracy Board of Realtors, Tracy Golf and Country Club, and Building Industry Association of the Delta. He was on the boards for the Tracy Community Hospital Board, Tracy Hospital Foundation and Tracy Downtown Association. In addition to the many organizations Cose is a part of, he built the gazebo in Lincoln Park and just this year began the winter farmers market at Sixth Street and Central Avenue.

Also named as recipients of the Community Recognition Awards this year:

Professional of the Year — David Thompson, CEO of Sutter Tracy Community Hospital.

Organization of the Year — Community Partnership for Families of San Joaquin-Tracy Family Resource Center.

Entrepreneur of the Year — Scarlata Farms.

Administrator of the Year — Alyssa Wooten, principal of Jefferson School.

Ambassador of the Year — Maggie Foresee-Griese.

Business of the Year — Prologis.

Emerging Youth Leader — Manal Siddiqui, 17, Millennium High School senior.

From the Heart Award — Dan Schack and Dino Margaros of the Tracy City Center Association.

All the recipients of the Community Recognition Awards will be honored at the chamber’s Winter Gala on Jan. 25 at the River Mill in French Camp. Tickets for the gala are $100, and people can get more information by calling 835-2131 or visiting

Contact the Tracy Press at or 835-3030.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.